If you were injured in an auto accident and need help obtaining your accident report, our attorneys are ready to help. Call us at 509-866-4166 or contact us online for a free accident consultation today.
If you were involved in a car accident that was responded to by a Washington State Trooper, you should obtain your copy of the WSP accident report.
The collision report is filed by the state trooper after they respond to your accident and it contains essential information that will help you as you take steps to recover your losses following an accident.
If you are interested in obtaining a copy of the collision report, there are a few different ways of doing so.
Order a Copy of Your WSP Accident Report Online
You can order a copy of your collision report by using the Washington Requests for Electronic Collision Reports website, which is linked here.
In order to search for the collision report, the webpage asks for the first and last name of an involved party in the accident, along with the date of the accident. However, if you know the collision report number for your case, you can search using that number.
Once your collision report populates in the search results, you can select it and add it to your cart. On the next screen, you will be asked about your involvement in the collision and from there can proceed to the checkout page. Collision reports cost $10.50.
Request a Copy of Your Collision Report by Mail
If you would rather order your Washington State Patrol collision report through the mail, that option is also available. To request your collision report through the mail, you should fill out the Request for Copy of Collision Report form.
This three-page document requires the details of your collision, including the date and location.
The first page of the form asks for details of the collision along with your contact information, requiring address and phone number.
If you would like to, you may also provide your email and fax.
You are also required to state your involvement in the crash (driver involved, injured passenger, owner of vehicle damaged, insurer, etc.)
The second and third pages of the request form is the Drivers Privacy Protection Act, which you must fill out to verify your reason for obtaining the report. The privacy form asks for which of 14 reasons you are requesting the collision report and requires your signature.
Ordering your collision report through the mail costs the same amount as ordering it online ($10.50). If ordering through the mail, send a check or money order made payable to the Washington State Patrol along with your completed Request for Copy of Collision Report.
It may take up to 2-4 weeks for your Washington State Patrol accident report to become available for order.